Spectrum Study
Spectrum Study


Spectrum Initiative Longitudinal Study
  About Spectrum : Timeline 2000  

16 January 2000: ALA and the Texas Library Association sponsor a chili cook-off fundraiser for Spectrum at the San Antonio Central Library at 2000 ALA Midwinter/San Antonio.

Spring 2000: Jose Aponte Chairs the 2000 Spectrum Leadership Institute.

Spring 2000: Richard AmRhein Chairs the 2000 Spectrum Initiative Scholarship Jury.

Spring 2000: PLA provides travel grants to Spectrum Scholars and mentors to attend the PLA 2000 conference.

Spring 2000: Michael Gutierrez (1999 Spectrum Scholar) is selected as the 1999-2000 RUSA Intern.

29-30 April 2000: ALA President Sara Ann Long reports on Spectrum at the ALA Executive Board spring meeting in Washington, DC.

29-30 April 2000: The ALA Executive Board approves the allocation of $1 million to the Spectrum Endowment Fund.

Spring 2000: ALA Presidential Candidate Claudia Sumler donates $1,200 to Spectrum.

Late spring 2000: The 2000 Spectrum Initiative Scholars are announced.

June 2000: The School of Library, Archival and Information Studies at the University of British Columbia donates $2,000 to the Spectrum Initiative.

June/July 2000: Spectrum receives $52,000 from the Religion and Ethics Institute to endow the Howard M. and Gladys B. Teeple scholarship.

June 2000: The second annual Spectrum Leadership Institute is held at The Lodge, McDonald’s University, Oak Brook, Illinois.

Summer 2000: REFORMA provides travel grants to Scholars to attend the REFORMA 2000 conference.

August 2000: ALA creates the Office for Diversity.